Sage TeBeest


Sage TeBeest is the Chair of the Kansas First Congressional District Democrats, Treasurer of Pottawatomie County Democrats, and Secretary of the Kansas Democratic Party Disability Caucus. She grew up in rural southern Oklahoma, but grew roots in Kansas after moving to the Wamego area when her husband was stationed at Fort Riley while serving in the U.S. Army. After acquiring a paralegal certification, life and health licensing, an Associates in Information Technology, and a Bachelor's degree in Web Design and Development she found her true passion in politics and activism. The 2016 primaries were her jumping off point to become more than just politically aware but actively engaged. She worked on the Bernie Sanders campaign and served as caucus captain during the primary. Sage had the absolute honor of being elected as a Sanders delegate to the 2016 DNC in Philadelphia. She was able to share this experience with her husband and son, which are memories that will last a lifetime. The journey to the DNC brought a group of people together that have created lasting friendships of loyal Democrats actively working to carry the party forward. She is proud to call the Big First District her home and honored to serve her fellow Kansans.

Dan Knupp

Vice Chair

Dan Knupp was born and raised in rural south-central Kansas, graduating from Larned High School. He went on to KU, earning a degree in Marketing and Graphic Design. He spent 20 years working in the Wichita area healthcare market -- at Via Christi's St. Francis Hospital and Halstead's Hertzler Clinic in PR, marketing and publications director positions. During his years on-the-job, Dan's volunteer activities included board and leadership positions with: The American Red Cross, The American Cancer Society, Harvey County United Way, Wichita Advertising Federation, Kansas Hospital Association and Rotary.  Dan's second career of helping get Democrats elected in Kansas is more of a challenge and is certainly much more rewarding! After retirement in 2010, living near Wamego, he was one of a group who helped reorganize the Pottawatomie County Democratic Party's activities, becoming chair in 2014. His excellent leadership and execution of the Democratic field plan garnered Pottawatomie County leading the CD1 in voter turnout in the 2016 general election. He has been an active member of the Kansas Democratic Chairs Caucus becoming treasurer in 2016.

Paula Roegge


Paula Roegge is a member of the Cloud County Democrats. A lifelong citizen of Concordia, she graduated from Cloud County Community College and Manhattan Christian College. After over 20 years of experience in the retail, agriculture, and special education arenas, she is now a stay-at-home-mom with two children on the autism spectrum.

Von Peterson


Von "Pete" Peterson is the current Treasurer of the First Congressional District Democratic Committee. He grew up in rural McPherson County farming and ranching with with his father, and today is a small business owner in the memorial business. He is the proud father of five children and two grandchildren. He also serves as the Chair of the McPherson County Democratic Committee. He ran for the 73rd District House seat in 2014, which was a great learning experience that cannot be paralleled. Von is humbled to be able to serve in any capacity and hopes his experience can aid in electing Democrats to office.


Credentialing Committee

Jim Swim, Chair
Jeremy Adkison
Johnny Dunlap
Gloria Hannon
Ruth Kerr

Finance Committee

Kenny Riffel, Chair
Von Peterson, Treasurer
Jaime Abel
Levi Morris
Paula Roegge

Rules & Bylaws Committee

Jeff Zamrzla, Parlimentarian
Sage TeBeest, Ex-Officio
Shelley Dunham
Levi Morris

Steering Committee

Dan Knupp, Ex-Officio